What Is The Significance Of “Choghadiya” In Indian Astrology And How Is It Used To Determine Auspicious Timings During The Day?

In Indian astrology, the concept of “Choghadiya” holds great significance when it comes to determining auspicious timings for various activities throughout the day. Derived from the Sanskrit words “Chogha” (meaning ‘four’) and “Diya” (meaning ‘lamp’), Choghadiya refers to a time division system that helps individuals choose favorable periods for commencing important tasks. This ancient practice aims to harness cosmic energies and align them with human endeavors. In this blog, we will explore the significance of din ka choghadiya in Indian astrology and how it is used to determine auspicious timings during the day.

Understanding Choghadiya

Choghadiya is a time division system that divides the day into multiple time slots, each of which is associated with specific planetary combinations. These time slots are classified as either favorable (shubh) or unfavorable (ashubh) based on the planetary positions at that particular time. The Choghadiya system takes into account the influence of various celestial bodies, such as the Sun, Moon, and other significant planets, to determine the energies prevailing during different periods of the day.

Determining Auspicious Timings

The primary purpose of Choghadiya is to identify auspicious timings for starting important activities, such as weddings, business ventures, travel, or even mundane tasks like house cleaning. Each Choghadiya period has a specific ruling planet, and the energies associated with that planet are believed to influence the outcomes of the activities initiated during that time. The favorable Choghadiya periods are considered to enhance the chances of success, prosperity, and positive outcomes, while the unfavorable periods are believed to bring challenges or obstacles.

Calculating Choghadiya

To calculate Choghadiya, astrologers consider the sunrise and sunset timings for a particular day, along with the planetary positions during that period. The day is divided into eight equal segments, each representing a Choghadiya period. These periods can vary in duration depending on the length of daylight. The eight Choghadiya periods are Amrit, Shubh, Labh, Chal, Rog, Kaal, Udveg, and Almanack. Each period has a specific ruling planet and is associated with certain qualities and energies.

Using Choghadiya for Auspicious Beginnings

When planning an event or commencing an important task, individuals consult the Choghadiya to select the most favorable period. For example, the Amrit Choghadiya, associated with the ruling planet Moon, is considered highly auspicious for initiating new ventures, investments, or any activity related to personal growth. Similarly, the din ka choghadiya, associated with Venus, is considered favorable for activities like marriage, signing contracts, or artistic pursuits. On the other hand, the Kaal Choghadiya, associated with Saturn, is considered inauspicious for most undertakings.

The Significance and Cultural Beliefs

While Choghadiya holds significant importance in Indian astrology and is widely followed by many individuals, its efficacy and influence vary among different cultural beliefs and regions. Some people view Choghadiya as a valuable tool for timing events and believe in its astrological significance, while others consider it more as a cultural tradition or a guiding principle for decision-making.


Choghadiya plays a vital role in Indian astrology, aiding individuals in selecting auspicious timings for important activities. By understanding the planetary combinations and their associated energies, one can utilize the Choghadiya system