How Many Home Baseball Games in a Season?

Discover how many home baseball games in a season. Gain insights into the structure of the MLB season and the factors that influence the number of home games. Get a comprehensive understanding of America’s favorite pastime and its exciting schedule.

In this article, we will delve into the world of baseball schedules and explore the factors that determine the number of games teams play in their home stadiums during a season.

Table of Contents

How Many Home Baseball Games in a Season?

The MLB season typically runs from early April to late September or early October. The regular season consists of 162 games for each team. Out of these, approximately half are played at the home stadium, while the rest are played on the road, visiting other cities and stadiums.

Understanding the Baseball Season

Before we dive into the specifics, let’s establish a general understanding of the baseball season. Major League Baseball (MLB) consists of 30 teams divided into two leagues, the American League (AL) and the National League (NL). Each league is further divided into three divisions, East, Central, and West. The regular season spans several months, usually starting in spring and culminating in early fall.

The MLB Schedule

Creating the MLB schedule is a complex task involving meticulous planning. Several factors are taken into account, such as travel considerations, divisional rivalries, and maintaining a fair balance among teams. The schedule is designed to ensure that each team plays a balanced number of games against both divisional and non-divisional opponents.

Home Field Advantage

Home field advantage plays a significant role in baseball. Teams perform better on their home turf due to several factors, including familiarity with the ballpark, supportive home crowds, and avoiding the stress of traveling. Hence, playing a substantial number of games at home is crucial for teams aiming to secure playoff berths and ultimately contend for a championship.

Determining the Number of Home Games

To determine the number of home games in a season, we must consider a few variables. First, we need to understand the total number of games played by each team during the regular season. Historically, MLB teams have played 162 games in a season, but it’s important to note that the league has occasionally experimented with different game counts.

Once we establish the total number of games, we need to examine the divisional and non-divisional breakdown. Each team typically plays the majority of their games within their division. The number of divisional games varies depending on the league and the specific division. For instance, teams in the AL East might play more games against divisional opponents than teams in the NL West.

Moreover, teams face non-divisional opponents to maintain a balanced schedule. These games are spread across both home and away games. The exact breakdown between divisional and non-divisional games is subject to scheduling rules and considerations set by the league.

Finally, we arrive at the answer to our initial question: How many home baseball games in a season? On average, a team can expect to play around 80 home games in a regular 162-game season. However, variations occur due to scheduling quirks, occasional doubleheaders, or adjustments made by the league.


Understanding the number of home baseball games in a season provides insight into the dynamic nature of the sport. With its meticulous planning and consideration of various factors, the MLB schedule ensures that each team has a fair opportunity to compete while enjoying the advantage of playing in front of their home crowd. The excitement of attending or watching home games resonates with fans as they cheer on their favorite teams, making every game a memorable experience. So next time you find yourself wondering how many home baseball games are played in a season, remember the intricate process behind scheduling and the joy that comes from supporting your team on their home turf.